History

“Because there was no lending library in the growing village of Grandview, one was started at the church. An announcement in the worship bulletin on December 10, 1916, stated that the minister’s library had received some new books donated by members as well as a consignment from the State Traveling Library. By the following month, a library committee has been formed. They designated February 4, 1917, as Book Day when each member of the congregation was asked to donate one book. A total of 118 volumes were received on Book Day and each was signed by a donor and marked with a bookplate that had been designed for the church library by Ernest Zell. His wife, Ella, served as librarian and was on duty each Sunday after both the morning and afternoon services to accommodate¬†borrowers. The collection grew with further gifts from members and consignments from the State Library. The church library served the entire area until 1923 when the Grandview Board of Education approved plans to put a levy on the ballot to start a public library in the high school until suitable quarters could be found.”

– from Reflections On Our Heritage: A History of First Community Church by Jackie Cherry, Church Historian

The minister at the time was Oliver Clyde Weist, Sr. Minister 1915-1931

Present Day

The Library continues today as an active lending library. Volumes can now be searched on the newly installed computer located in the library and checked out in a simple self-serve process.

We welcome you to explore the space and enjoy a book!